ACM SIGGRAPH Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, 27 August , 2024

2 - 3 PM PT/ 5 - 6 PM ET

Attendees:

Mona Kasra, Executive Committee Chair David Spoelstra, Executive Committee Treasurer Elizabeth Baron, Executive Committee Director, Past Chair Tomasz Bednarz, SIGGRAPH Asia Conference Advisory Group (SACAG) Chair Ashley Cozzi, ACM Program Director Dena DeBry, Nomination Committee Chair Shimin Hu, Executive Committee Director Masa Inakage, Executive Committee Director Eakta Jain, Executive Committee Chair - Elect Brad Lawrence, Executive Committee Treasurer - Elect Barbara Mones, Executive Committee Director Mikki Rose, Conference Advisory Group, (CAG) Chair Courtney Starrett, Executive Committee Director Scott Owen, Governance Advisory Board (GAB) Chair Brenda Dreier, Conference Management

Meeting Minutes

- 16 July
 - PASSED
- 27 July
 - PASSED
- 13 Aug
 - PASSED

Agenda:

Agenda Item	Presenter	Time Needed
 Chair's Update Approve Meeting Minutes ACM SIGGRAPH FY'23-24 Annual Report ACM has changed the format since last year, and it is more concise and asks for highlights from the organization regarding their activities. The highlights should include: Diversity, equity, and inclusion highlights from the year. 	Mona Kasra	10 Mins

Agenda Item	Presenter	Time Needed
 ii. Highlight all the organizational awards. iii. Include non-conference year-round activities. iv. The Chair stated completing this report showed how much the organization has accomplished and even how much the EC has done over the last year. 1. The EC really thought about efficiencies which has set up the EC to move in a very good direction to make the work they do more manageable. 3. Thank you & Farewell to departing EC Directors a. Masa Inakage & Barbara Mones are departing. i. Gratitude for all their hard work and efforts. b. They will continue their involvement with various initiatives; Barbara with the ACM SIGGRAPH events calendar and Masa with the Hybrid and Design ad hoc committees. i. Note from Masa that the hybrid committee is working on a proposal to the EC on how to bring the digital twin to ACM SIGGRAPH. 		
 Conference Location for SIGGRAPH 2027 and 2028 - [Confidential Discussion] 1. Update from the Conference Advisory Group (CAG) a. Overview - The CAG presented to the EC a year ago that they were considering going to a new city in 2027. At SIGGRAPH 2024, the CAG mentioned changing that plan based on the financial outcome of SIGGRAPH 2024. 2. Next Steps a. The EC agrees with the CAG's plan regarding selecting locations for 2027 and 2028. b. The CAG will keep the EC posted about the location selection process. 	Mikki Rose	10
Officer Selection Advisory Group (OSAG) Recommendation for Chair-Elect <i>(pending)</i> 1. Discussion a. Still waiting for enough votes. i. Dena DeBry hoped to have the votes by	Mona Kasra Dena DeBry (No Recording)	0 Min

Agenda Item	Presenter	Time Needed
 today's meeting. 1. Nominations are still waiting for a couple of votes. 2. Anticipating multiple candidates from OSAG. 3. Will set up a Friday call for a special meeting of the EC. ii. How to proceed? 1. What happens if there is only one candidate? a. Will continue discussion and vote via email. <i>i.</i> Darin Grant will be the Chair - elect. 		
Governance Advisory Board (GAB) Items for Discussion & Vote	Scott Owen	10 Mins
 GAB Drafts a Policy Guidelines Change for Two Year Term for Treasurer. Overview EC voted in Denver to allow the Nominations Committee to seek a Treasurer-elect with the Director C slate. 		