ACM SIGGRAPH Executive Committee Meeting Minutes (PUBLIC)

Tuesday, 24 September , 2024

2 - 3 PM PT/ 5 - 6 PM ET

Attendees:

Eakta Jain, Executive Committee Chair Brad Lawrence, Executive Committee Treasurer Darin Grant, Executive Committee Chair - Elect David Spoelstra, Executive Committee Treasurer - Elect Elizabeth Baron, Executive Committee Director Tomasz Bednarz, SIGGRAPH Asia Conference Advisory Group (SACAG) Chair Marcia Daudelin, Conference Administration Dena DeBry, Nomination Committee Chair Hugues Hoppe, Executive Committee Director Scott Owen, Governance Advisory Board (GAB) Chair Mikki Rose, Conference Advisory Group, (CAG) Chair Alla Sheffer, Executive Committee Director Courtney Starrett, Executive Committee Director

AGENDA ITEM	PRESENTER
10 September minutes approved by EC.	All
 Chair's Update Conference revenue update: The updated projections are tracking a loss for SIGGRAPH 2024. All expenses are not received. SIGGRAPH as an organization has funds to protect the organizations in situations like this one. With many of the SIGGRAPH 2025 planning underway and expenses already earmarked, significant changes will be hard to make for 2025. The EC meeting in November will focus on SIGGRAPH 2026 and beyond. The EC will use the November meeting to reimagine the conference in the next five years. It is up to the EC to envision the future and provide that guidance to the CAG. EC Fall In Person Meeting: November 8-10, 2024 in Atlanta. The travel authorization will be distributed in the next week. The EC reviewed a document with data points and questions for the conference/CAG to provide answers prior to the in-person November meeting so that the EC can be fully informed during the November meeting. The EC was tasked with adding questions to the document. 	Eakta Jain
ACM Sanctions Database - Informational Topic The EC was reminded that ACM has a sanctions database in which individuals are flagged if found in violation of an EC policy. The current EC chair is provided access to the database. ACM SIGGRAPH is asked to check as many of the appointed positions as possible against that database before confirming an individual for a volunteer position. The conferences have processes in place to check volunteers, jurors and attendees against the sanctions database. The access is limited to a few key individuals. If someone is flagged, the ACM Advocacy group takes the next steps.	Eakta Jain / Mona Kasra
EC Standing Committee Liaisons & OKR Groupings	Eakta Jain/

a. A bre Com EC h b. Each Curre liaiso positi 2. The EC was developed in a. Detai mem b. With reque	ctive Standing Committees was reviewed: eakdown of the Standing Committees, Strategy Groups, Ad-Hoc mittees, Advisory Groups, and Affinity Groups was reviewed by the ere: link. I committee and group has an EC member serve as a liaison. ently, there are committees and groups that do not have an EC on. Eakta asked for EC members to volunteer for the open liaison ions. reminded about the Objective & Key Results (OKRs) which were n November 2023: ils on the OKRs can be found here: linked. The OKRs focus on bership, organization-wide communications, and processes. new directors transitioning onto the EC in September, there is a est for those individuals to join one of the three OKR groups. OKR ps were encouraged to reach out to the new EC directors to	Mona Kasra
	bre joining their OKR group.	
Awards Committee		Fakta Jain
position of ex SIGGRAPH a. The A excep delay b. Jeff v him b c. Jeff r when d. The B vs ha comr e. There diver proce achie new a comr f. Scott and b the c callin future deve	urrent policy requiring a public call for nominations for the chair ach ACM SIGGRAPH Award. Details on the various ACM Awards can be found: <u>linked</u> . ACM SIGGRAPH Award Chair Jeff Jortner has asked the EC for an ption to the public call to ensure the next year's award process isn't	Eakta Jain
SIGGRAPH forward to th a. Vote	stra made a motion to grant a one-time exception for the ACM Awards Chair to forgo asking for public nominations and put le EC a single candidate for each of the outgoing award chairs.	

Action- Eakta Jain and Darin Grant to share decisions of the EC regarding the Award Chair's request for exceptions and the nominated individuals. EC Project Manager Contract (volunteers & EC only)	Eakta Jain
 Darin Grant motioned to confirm Copper Giloth as the Distinguished Art Award chair, Steve Marschner as the SIGGRAPH Academy Committee Chair, and Barbara Mones as the Distinguished Educator Award Chair. a. Vote b. Motion PASSED 	